Author Topic: Channel Hopping  (Read 858 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Clive

  • Live-in Netter
  • *********
  • Posts: 5602
  • Karma: 25
Channel Hopping
« on: Sep 28, 2016, 21:44:06 »
I use a Netgear router supplied by IDNet and I've noticed that after downloading Netspot that out of 31 connections around me, most, including my own are on channel 11.  Is it easy to change my channel to one which is less crowded - say channel 1 as there is hardly anyone using that.  Or better still channel 2 which is empty? 

Offline Simon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 57754
  • Karma: 1067
    • PC Pals Forum
Re: Channel Hopping
« Reply #1 on: Sep 28, 2016, 21:47:40 »
I don't have a Netgear, so I can't tell you where it is, but usually, there's a dropdown menu in the settings somewhere, which allows you to change channels.
Simon.
--
This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Simon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 57754
  • Karma: 1067
    • PC Pals Forum
Re: Channel Hopping
« Reply #2 on: Sep 28, 2016, 21:49:00 »
This might give you a clue, Clive, even if it's not the exact same model:

http://documentation.netgear.com/wgt624v4/enu/202-10234-01/WGT624_RM-04-05.html
Simon.
--
This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Clive

  • Live-in Netter
  • *********
  • Posts: 5602
  • Karma: 25
Re: Channel Hopping
« Reply #3 on: Sep 28, 2016, 22:31:24 »
That's very useful Simon.  It seems that the default channel is 11 but is there a reason for that.  And why is 11 so popular?  We sometimes find that despite having ADSL2+ with a 14Mb/s connection, we still get buffering on iPlayer at peak times.  Hence my quest to change channels. 

Offline Clive

  • Live-in Netter
  • *********
  • Posts: 5602
  • Karma: 25
Re: Channel Hopping
« Reply #4 on: Sep 29, 2016, 13:32:50 »
OK, so I've managed to get into my router settings but I cannot see any way of channel hopping.  The router is a Netgear DG834G but there is no drop down menu to fiddle with.  It's set to channel 11 and that's it! 

Offline Clive

  • Live-in Netter
  • *********
  • Posts: 5602
  • Karma: 25
Re: Channel Hopping
« Reply #5 on: Sep 29, 2016, 13:42:58 »
Got it!  I had to click on settings.  Channel 2 calling.   ;D  Much better!   :thumb:

Offline Simon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 57754
  • Karma: 1067
    • PC Pals Forum
Re: Channel Hopping
« Reply #6 on: Sep 29, 2016, 13:48:49 »
 :thumb:
Simon.
--
This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Clive

  • Live-in Netter
  • *********
  • Posts: 5602
  • Karma: 25
Re: Channel Hopping
« Reply #7 on: Sep 29, 2016, 16:53:33 »
There is a huge difference!  But there are now 48 connections in my vicinity as opposed to 31 last night. 

Offline Clive

  • Live-in Netter
  • *********
  • Posts: 5602
  • Karma: 25
Re: Channel Hopping
« Reply #8 on: Sep 29, 2016, 17:07:46 »
So I now have a latency of 16 ms and a 1 ms jitter if that is meaningful.  My speed is 13.75 Mp/s on ADSL2+.

Offline Clive

  • Live-in Netter
  • *********
  • Posts: 5602
  • Karma: 25
Re: Channel Hopping
« Reply #9 on: Sep 30, 2016, 10:03:04 »
This morning we watched Newsweek on BBC iPlayer and the difference is incredible.  No clunkiness or waiting for pages to load.  Everything was instant and we were watching the programme within seconds.  Previously, after the first few minutes it would stop and start from the beginning again. 

Offline nowster

  • Master Netter
  • *******
  • Posts: 1195
  • Karma: 20
Re: Channel Hopping
« Reply #10 on: Sep 30, 2016, 13:21:08 »
The best channels to use on 2.4GHz are 1, 6 and 11. They don't overlap each other.

Offline Clive

  • Live-in Netter
  • *********
  • Posts: 5602
  • Karma: 25
Re: Channel Hopping
« Reply #11 on: Sep 30, 2016, 13:47:37 »
Thanks for that tip.  Channel 1 is quite busy but channel 6 has only one user.  I'll jump on it too.   :thumb:


Show unread posts since last visit.
 

Any information and links published in the forum are posted in good faith, but the forum staff and
owners cannot and do not accept responsibility for the content and accuracy of external websites.

luck