Author Topic: New 2700HGV V6-Firmware  (Read 5708 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Ted

  • Forum Star
  • *****
  • Posts: 1324
  • Karma: 95
New 2700HGV V6-Firmware
« on: May 29, 2009, 18:15:50 »
Yesterday i received a brand spanking new 2700, i was pretty certain it was a v6 version with a serial number of 9309, and it was.  :thumb:

Put it on today and followed the steps laid out on the "tripod", configured it with fake username etc.

I couldn't get the "set up" page so went directly to the PPP authentication page" http://home/xslt?PAGE=HURL13 " entered my details, then got the "Tech details \ Reboot system" page with a red internet light.

Pulled the power plug to reboot, it came up with a green internet light and is now chugging along nicely ;D

So if you happen to get one of these, they're easy to set up and appear to work just fine.



[attachment deleted by admin]
Code: [Select]
TedThere's no place like 127.0.0.1

Offline Rik

  • Admin Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 203018
  • Karma: 1423
Re: New 2700HGV V6-Firmware
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2009, 18:20:44 »
I'm jealous of your stats, Ted. ;D Now we just need to find if the wee beasties will work on WBC.
Rik
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Ted

  • Forum Star
  • *****
  • Posts: 1324
  • Karma: 95
Re: New 2700HGV V6-Firmware
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2009, 18:23:57 »
Of course they will!  :lala:
Code: [Select]
TedThere's no place like 127.0.0.1

Offline Rik

  • Admin Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 203018
  • Karma: 1423
Re: New 2700HGV V6-Firmware
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2009, 18:24:26 »
I'll know for sure on June 8.
Rik
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Ted

  • Forum Star
  • *****
  • Posts: 1324
  • Karma: 95
Re: New 2700HGV V6-Firmware
« Reply #4 on: May 29, 2009, 18:25:33 »
I'll know for sure on June 8.

 :fingers:
Code: [Select]
TedThere's no place like 127.0.0.1

Offline Rik

  • Admin Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 203018
  • Karma: 1423
Re: New 2700HGV V6-Firmware
« Reply #5 on: May 29, 2009, 18:26:44 »
Exactly. It's difficult to know whether to celebrate or pray, Ted. :)
Rik
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Ted

  • Forum Star
  • *****
  • Posts: 1324
  • Karma: 95
Re: New 2700HGV V6-Firmware
« Reply #6 on: May 29, 2009, 18:44:07 »
Exactly. It's difficult to know whether to celebrate or pray, Ted. :)

I'm kind of optimistic, BT have given out a lot of these routers to business customers and you have to assume that more than a few will take up the new services when available.

If they don't work, that's an awful lot of routers to replace. Having said that, its anyone's guess  :dunno:

Perhaps they'll work with V6 firmware  :evil:
Code: [Select]
TedThere's no place like 127.0.0.1

Offline kinmel

  • Netter Nutter
  • ********
  • Posts: 4701
  • Karma: 491
Re: New 2700HGV V6-Firmware
« Reply #7 on: May 29, 2009, 19:41:04 »
BT have stopped the update of existing routers simply because of the large numbers that have had to be replaced.

Although V6 routers work with vanilla systems, they cannot cope with more complex set-ups and their failure to recognise some connected devices is a major headache.

The recommendation remains to avoid buying V6 routers if at all possible.
Alan  ‹(•¿•)›

What is the date of the referendum for England to become an independent country ?

Online Simon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 60553
  • Karma: 1073
    • PC Pals Forum
Re: New 2700HGV V6-Firmware
« Reply #8 on: May 29, 2009, 19:52:26 »
Something of a relief, Alan, providing v5s work with ADSL2+. 
Simon.
--
This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline kinmel

  • Netter Nutter
  • ********
  • Posts: 4701
  • Karma: 491
Re: New 2700HGV V6-Firmware
« Reply #9 on: May 29, 2009, 20:33:15 »
providing v5s work with ADSL2+.  

We live in hope, although every support and Spec document insists that the 2700HGV is fully ADSL2+ compatible  :fingers:
« Last Edit: May 29, 2009, 20:37:26 by kinmel »
Alan  ‹(•¿•)›

What is the date of the referendum for England to become an independent country ?

Online Simon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 60553
  • Karma: 1073
    • PC Pals Forum
Re: New 2700HGV V6-Firmware
« Reply #10 on: May 29, 2009, 21:09:08 »
We shall soon find out.  :)
Simon.
--
This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Rik

  • Admin Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 203018
  • Karma: 1423
Re: New 2700HGV V6-Firmware
« Reply #11 on: May 30, 2009, 09:14:07 »
Starting next Wednesday...
Rik
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline MisterW

  • Grand Netter
  • ******
  • Posts: 762
  • Karma: 32
Re: New 2700HGV V6-Firmware
« Reply #12 on: May 30, 2009, 12:31:35 »
Quote
providing v5s work with ADSL2+.

They work fine!! :)
Our office got upgraded by Demon over a week ago. They did it at 01:30 one morning, then told us about it 6 1/2 hours later by email  ::) That's Demon for you , bless em!!

Anyway router stats attached , running firmware 5.29.117.6.
As you can see it's running fine although TBH it is a pretty good line ( exchange a stones throw! ).
It used to synch at 8128k with about 15db margin on ADSL1 , its noticeable though that the initial SNR target seems to have been set at 9db on ADSL2+. Initially when first connected at 01:30 ( a week last Thurs IIRC ) it synched at 23000kbps but dropped and resynched at 22500ish at 04:30. We noticed that the following day in the afternoon the SNR had dropped to 5-6db and the error count was quite high, so we forced a resynch to get a slightly lower speed 21900ish but less errors. It's now been at that speed ever since and pretty stable. 

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline Rik

  • Admin Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 203018
  • Karma: 1423
Re: New 2700HGV V6-Firmware
« Reply #13 on: May 30, 2009, 12:32:55 »
Thanks for that, more for the database.  :thumb:
Rik
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline MisterW

  • Grand Netter
  • ******
  • Posts: 762
  • Karma: 32
Re: New 2700HGV V6-Firmware
« Reply #14 on: May 30, 2009, 12:45:47 »
On the V6 firmware topic...
We also got a V6 one in which has been used for one of our teleworkers to replace a 1800HG.
His line is pretty awful, he's on a fixed 1mb speed and was only managing 8db margin on a good day and the line was regularly dropping out in bad weather. So we thought , lets see what a 2700 can do for him!.
The V6 is giving about 20db margin on the 1mb fixed connection, which surprised us! :) as we didnt expect the 2700 to be THAT much better than the 1800.

We might just try and get him upgraded to MAX now. :-\

The V6 one had unfortunately gone out before our line was upgraded so we didnt get the opportunity to check it on ADSL2. :(

Offline Rik

  • Admin Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 203018
  • Karma: 1423
Re: New 2700HGV V6-Firmware
« Reply #15 on: May 30, 2009, 12:52:07 »
I gained a full Mb at best from moving to a 2700 from a Netgear DG834G v3. They do seem to have remarkable modems in them.
Rik
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Glenn

  • Former Staff
  • *****
  • Posts: 27947
  • Karma: 738
    • WRRacing
Re: New 2700HGV V6-Firmware
« Reply #16 on: May 30, 2009, 12:59:10 »
I had a similar experience to Rik's, nearly a full 1mb gain, BT's checker say's my line can only support 1Mb, but is currently on a 2Mb profile.
Glenn
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline kinmel

  • Netter Nutter
  • ********
  • Posts: 4701
  • Karma: 491
Re: New 2700HGV V6-Firmware
« Reply #17 on: May 30, 2009, 20:15:30 »
You will be pleased to know that posts on our forum are part of the international collaboration that is helping to develop the definitive guide to the 2700HGV being created by Tripod.

Today's posts by MisterW has led to a new section of the guide being started, just as similar posts in the past have helped before.

Thanks for everyone's help to assist us understanding  the capabilities of the 2700HGV

 
Alan  ‹(•¿•)›

What is the date of the referendum for England to become an independent country ?

Online Simon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 60553
  • Karma: 1073
    • PC Pals Forum
Re: New 2700HGV V6-Firmware
« Reply #18 on: May 31, 2009, 00:17:48 »
That's great news, Alan!  :thumb:
Simon.
--
This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Sebby

  • Former Staff
  • *****
  • Posts: 17616
  • Karma: 397
Re: New 2700HGV V6-Firmware
« Reply #19 on: May 31, 2009, 01:48:27 »
It is indeed!

Offline Rik

  • Admin Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 203018
  • Karma: 1423
Re: New 2700HGV V6-Firmware
« Reply #20 on: May 31, 2009, 10:54:42 »
This is where forums can really achieve a lot, by pooling intelligence. Great work, Alan. :karma:
Rik
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Den

  • Forum Star
  • *****
  • Posts: 19838
  • Karma: 410
    • www.crimeshield-alarms.co.uk
Re: New 2700HGV V6-Firmware
« Reply #21 on: Jun 09, 2009, 21:40:51 »
Is there any advantage of V6 version over the previous version. I have been given a brand spanking new one today running Version V6 but is there any point of changing over or should I stay with one I know works.  :eyebrow:
Mr Music Man.

Online Simon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 60553
  • Karma: 1073
    • PC Pals Forum
Re: New 2700HGV V6-Firmware
« Reply #22 on: Jun 09, 2009, 22:03:04 »
Alan will confirm, but I think the current advice is to stick with v5, if you can.  I don't think I've read of any performance improvements with v6, so perhaps just keep it as a standby, Den?
Simon.
--
This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Ted

  • Forum Star
  • *****
  • Posts: 1324
  • Karma: 95
Re: New 2700HGV V6-Firmware
« Reply #23 on: Jun 09, 2009, 22:56:50 »
I've had this one running 24/7 for nearly 10 days now, no re-syncs and errors appear to be very low, even for me. I have 2x pc (wired) and 3x laptops (wireless) connected to it, all connect easily with no drop outs. Wireless signal is fine in all parts of our 4 bed house, also works great in the garden.

Alan was saying that they're not so good for more complex systems, so if you have a standard setup i.e. Computer/s > router > internet, i can't see any real drawbacks.

[attachment deleted by admin]
Code: [Select]
TedThere's no place like 127.0.0.1

Offline Sebby

  • Former Staff
  • *****
  • Posts: 17616
  • Karma: 397
Re: New 2700HGV V6-Firmware
« Reply #24 on: Jun 09, 2009, 22:59:20 »
Nice one, Ted. :)


Show unread posts since last visit.
 

Any information and links published in the forum are posted in good faith, but the forum staff and
owners cannot and do not accept responsibility for the content and accuracy of external websites.