Author Topic: ESET  (Read 215 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Broadback

  • Master Netter
  • *******
  • Posts: 1849
  • Karma: 98
ESET
« on: Aug 13, 2019, 14:53:44 »
I have used ESET for some time with full satisfaction. I have needed to renew, now they require me to input data to it it to work. Why?I it is a simple renewal, which I have done with no problems in the past. Is there a good alternative at about the same price, £40 for annual renewal?
Nothing is perfect, not even my ignorance!

Offline nowster

  • Master Netter
  • *******
  • Posts: 2433
  • Karma: 22
Re: ESET
« Reply #1 on: Aug 13, 2019, 15:58:30 »
What's ESET?

Offline Broadback

  • Master Netter
  • *******
  • Posts: 1849
  • Karma: 98
Re: ESET
« Reply #2 on: Aug 13, 2019, 17:06:07 »
I let Google be my friend, here it is: ESET Internet Security for Windows | ESET
Nothing is perfect, not even my ignorance!

Offline Simon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 59814
  • Karma: 1071
    • PC Pals Forum
Re: ESET
« Reply #3 on: Aug 13, 2019, 23:48:32 »
What do you mean by they "require me to input data"?  One would assume that they would require payment details, and perhaps confirmation of your name and address, but I don't really see what else they would need.

As it happens, I was just reading Computer Active magazine, and there's an offer in there for Norton 360 for £15 for 3 devices for a year.
Simon.
--
This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Broadback

  • Master Netter
  • *******
  • Posts: 1849
  • Karma: 98
Re: ESET
« Reply #4 on: Aug 14, 2019, 08:24:38 »
They require me to input all the licence information, which is not just a case of typing the information into boxes. They sent the information but imputing it is not straightforward. I contacted the help line, they are as useful as a chocolate teapot. I do not understand why renewing a licence requires any input from me. I have a number of renewable contracts and paying the fee is all that is required, this was also true of ESET in the past. I blame Brexit, everyone else does!  :)x So how good is Norton, anyone experience of them please? 
Nothing is perfect, not even my ignorance!

Offline Simon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 59814
  • Karma: 1071
    • PC Pals Forum
Re: ESET
« Reply #5 on: Aug 14, 2019, 18:58:58 »
I've not used Norton for years, but they seem to have a solid reputation.  Of course, you would need to fully remove ESET before installing Norton, as two anti virus products on one machine can conflict and cause problems.  Here's the offer, if you're interested:

https://store.computeractive.co.uk/?act=search&brand=39

I might suggest, though, that it could be less work to renew ESET than it would be to replace it.
Simon.
--
This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Ray

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 16405
  • Karma: 684
    • Scolebrook Shetland Sheepdogs
Re: ESET
« Reply #6 on: Aug 15, 2019, 07:54:20 »
Are you sure you've bought a renewal? it sounds to me like you may have bought a new Licence instead, you don't normally need to input a new licence key if you've only renewed it.
Ray
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Broadback

  • Master Netter
  • *******
  • Posts: 1849
  • Karma: 98
Re: ESET
« Reply #7 on: Aug 16, 2019, 10:55:13 »
Thanks one and all for the suggestions. ESET came up, rather belatedly with the solution, they sorted it themselves.  :thumb:
Nothing is perfect, not even my ignorance!


Show unread posts since last visit.
 

Any information and links published in the forum are posted in good faith, but the forum staff and
owners cannot and do not accept responsibility for the content and accuracy of external websites.

luck