Author Topic: What router do you use  (Read 9293 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Sebby

  • Former Staff
  • *****
  • Posts: 17616
  • Karma: 397
Re: What router do you use
« Reply #25 on: Feb 03, 2008, 22:49:42 »
Yep, it's the best router I've ever owned. ;D

Offline Nigel

  • Full Netter
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: 1
Re: What router do you use
« Reply #26 on: Feb 04, 2008, 06:08:15 »
Hi Kerrso05. No, I've never had any disconnects with my Zoom X6. I'm no expert but I suggest that the problem lies with your line, home wiring or exchange rather than with your router or IDNet.

Offline g7pkf

  • Grand Netter
  • ******
  • Posts: 668
  • Karma: 34
  • Me and she who must
    • Mud Mud Glorious Mud
Re: What router do you use
« Reply #27 on: Feb 04, 2008, 10:12:03 »
At present the best 2700HGV

also own a 1800 (2700 without the VOIP)
voyager 250
voyager 110
billion
d-link
AVM
cisco (2nd best router for my line)
another 2 cant remember the brands
and a multitech.

Yes i work on adsl lines a bit.



Offline Inactive

  • Netter Nutter
  • ********
  • Posts: 4910
  • Karma: 380
Re: What router do you use
« Reply #28 on: Feb 04, 2008, 10:19:38 »
I am using a Zyxel 6600 at the moment, I also have a BT Voyager 2100 and a Talk Talk ( read Philips )..along with 3 faulty 2700's . ;D.. I like the Zyxel best of the bunch.

I don't do polls, so I havn't voted..  >:D
Anything and everything that I post on here is purely my opinion, it ain't going to change the world, you are under no obligation to agree with me, it is purely my expressed opinion.

Offline Gary

  • Supreme Netter
  • *************
  • Posts: 15583
  • Karma: 241
Re: What router do you use
« Reply #29 on: Feb 04, 2008, 11:28:40 »
Must admit I have gone back to the DG834G v3 as I started having wireless dropouts when media streaming, granted the 2700 was the best for line speed and stability but the QOS feature on the DG is is better for me personally, I have dropped sync to 5568 but I can live with that and I'm still getting a good snr, maybe some work was done on my DSLAM :-\ I think its horses for courses with routers but the 2700 was good but also I need upnp even though it has issues, but the DG does not allow dns changes via it so I'm not to worried there. :) anyone want a dual SSID 2700 HGV, PM me ;D

Offline mrapoc

  • Former Staff
  • *****
  • Posts: 2004
  • Karma: 54
  • Raver Catz
    • Overclock3d
Re: What router do you use
« Reply #30 on: Feb 04, 2008, 12:06:06 »
Im loving my hacked 2700hgv  ;D

Holds the line 100% ;)

Offline psp83

  • Netter Nutter
  • ********
  • Posts: 3901
  • Karma: 130
    • Paul Paradise
Re: What router do you use
« Reply #31 on: Feb 04, 2008, 12:07:40 »
I know this wasn't directed at me, but just to let you know that I've had a Netgear DG834G (v1) for approx three years now, and I've never experienced problems with it - certainly not of the type that you mention there.

I had an 834G v3 running for a year or so before moving to the 2700. No problems of that sort at all. Might be worth trying some extra ventilation, Paul.

Sorry, But i was talking about my older router, the DG834PN version, That router was a nightmare atleast once a day  :-\

But i've got a DG834G router and not had much probs with it, only when BT **** around with my line  :-[

Offline shazzy

  • Full Netter
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Karma: 5
Re: What router do you use
« Reply #32 on: Feb 04, 2008, 12:31:05 »
I'm using a netgear DG834g V3.  A really good all round router.  Just upgraded the firmware to V4.01.30 and I have a few more options to play round with now including security wep options.  :D

Offline Baz

  • Live-in Netter
  • *********
  • Posts: 5036
  • Karma: 87
Re: What router do you use
« Reply #33 on: Feb 04, 2008, 14:44:25 »
Im no expert so may be wrong here but isnt WPA security far better than WEP?

Offline Rik

  • Admin Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 203018
  • Karma: 1423
Re: What router do you use
« Reply #34 on: Feb 04, 2008, 15:22:52 »
Much better, Baz. WEP can be cracked in a few seconds.
Rik
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline DeViTTo

  • Addicted Netter
  • ****
  • Posts: 132
  • Karma: 3
Re: What router do you use
« Reply #35 on: Feb 06, 2008, 22:36:16 »
I have a Dlink DIR655 Cable router 1gb switch and draft N.

Using a Draytek Vigor 100 ADSL+2 Modem  :)

Offline krysia

  • Addicted Netter
  • ****
  • Posts: 191
  • Karma: 4
Re: What router do you use
« Reply #36 on: Feb 07, 2008, 17:32:00 »
I've got a Billion 7402VGP (with VOIP), which I like - it allows you to set a coding gain that increases sync speed, which is handy, or you can just leave it on auto.  The helpdesk is first-rate - when e-mails about setting up the firewall didn't get me anywhere, they phoned me up (early on a Friday evening!) and talked me through the necessary set-up very patiently!

Offline Rik

  • Admin Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 203018
  • Karma: 1423
Re: What router do you use
« Reply #37 on: Feb 07, 2008, 17:33:27 »
Thanks, Krysia - have you voted?
Rik
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline krysia

  • Addicted Netter
  • ****
  • Posts: 191
  • Karma: 4
Re: What router do you use
« Reply #38 on: Feb 07, 2008, 20:17:26 »
Yes, I have - thanks for checking!

Offline Simon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 58019
  • Karma: 1067
    • PC Pals Forum
Re: What router do you use
« Reply #39 on: Feb 07, 2008, 21:13:27 »
Yes, I have - thanks for checking!

That's a relief - Rik would have been round with a clipboard otherwise!  ;D
Simon.
--
This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Malc

  • Master Netter
  • *******
  • Posts: 1215
  • Karma: 181
  • Iver
Re: What router do you use
« Reply #40 on: Feb 07, 2008, 22:13:40 »
That's a relief - Rik would have been round with a clipboard otherwise!  ;D


Clip round the ear, more like

Offline Rik

  • Admin Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 203018
  • Karma: 1423
Re: What router do you use
« Reply #41 on: Feb 08, 2008, 00:48:07 »
I'm still amazed at the low takeup on Speedtouch.
Rik
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Inactive

  • Netter Nutter
  • ********
  • Posts: 4910
  • Karma: 380
Re: What router do you use
« Reply #42 on: Feb 08, 2008, 00:50:37 »
That's a relief - Rik would have been round with a clipboard otherwise!  ;D

I await mine then Simon..  ;D
Anything and everything that I post on here is purely my opinion, it ain't going to change the world, you are under no obligation to agree with me, it is purely my expressed opinion.

Offline Rik

  • Admin Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 203018
  • Karma: 1423
Re: What router do you use
« Reply #43 on: Feb 08, 2008, 00:54:10 »
It's in the post, In.  :)
Rik
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Inactive

  • Netter Nutter
  • ********
  • Posts: 4910
  • Karma: 380
Re: What router do you use
« Reply #44 on: Feb 08, 2008, 00:56:43 »
Trembling at the thought of it Rik...  ;D
Anything and everything that I post on here is purely my opinion, it ain't going to change the world, you are under no obligation to agree with me, it is purely my expressed opinion.

Offline Malc

  • Master Netter
  • *******
  • Posts: 1215
  • Karma: 181
  • Iver
Re: What router do you use
« Reply #45 on: Feb 08, 2008, 07:33:23 »
I'm still amazed at the low takeup on Speedtouch.

I have one ;)

Offline Rik

  • Admin Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 203018
  • Karma: 1423
Re: What router do you use
« Reply #46 on: Feb 08, 2008, 09:09:45 »
I know. :)
Rik
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Ray

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 16373
  • Karma: 684
    • Scolebrook Shetland Sheepdogs
Re: What router do you use
« Reply #47 on: Feb 08, 2008, 09:31:15 »
I'm still amazed at the low takeup on Speedtouch.
I've got one as well - I also have a Netgear so I suppose I could have voted for that instead.  :-\ but I'm using my Speedtouch at the moment.  ;D
Ray
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Rik

  • Admin Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 203018
  • Karma: 1423
Re: What router do you use
« Reply #48 on: Feb 08, 2008, 09:40:38 »
I was thinking about allowing two votes for all of use who have a spare in the cupboard Ray. ;)
Rik
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Malc

  • Master Netter
  • *******
  • Posts: 1215
  • Karma: 181
  • Iver
Re: What router do you use
« Reply #49 on: Feb 08, 2008, 09:41:29 »
Then I can add by speedtouch to the vote


Show unread posts since last visit.
 

Any information and links published in the forum are posted in good faith, but the forum staff and
owners cannot and do not accept responsibility for the content and accuracy of external websites.