Author Topic: Vodafone sure signal device issues  (Read 5671 times)

Offline dysonco

• New Netter
Vodafone sure signal device issues
« on: Jan 30, 2016, 14:07:45 »
Hi All,

Having great fun with those lovely people at Vodafone about a 3g signal boosting device and I wondered what your thoughts were?

Basically the sure signal device plugs into your broadband connection apparently makes a VPN connection to vodafone's servers and suddenly you have a mobile phone signal booster, great idea isn't it?  Shame it's a buggy pile of cr*p...

Anyway, the overiding response from vodafone is the devices only support PPOA connections which as far I can tell means typically only ADSL and not FTTC/ VDSL.  As far as I can tell (and I'm no network expert here) it's an issue where the sure signal device (SS) requires an mtu of 1500, but PPOE doesn't support an MTU above 1492 which results in fragmented and therefore lost data.

Have a look https://forum.pfsense.org/index.php?topic=34387.0 at an interesting forum entry discussing this.

There's lots of very knowledgeable people out there scratching their heads as to why this can't be a simple fix for vodafone to change settings on the SS servers to allow a lower mtu.

Anyway, I was hoping some of the IDNET network gurus would wade in with their thoughts on this.

Thanks!

Mike

Offline nowster

• Netter Nutter
Re: Vodafone sure signal device issues
« Reply #1 on: Jan 30, 2016, 15:04:18 »
PPPoA had a much lower MTU size in the past, too. This is a limitation of the ATM frame size.

Any manufacturer assuming an IP frame of 1500 bytes will always work is setting themselves up for a fail. For instance, I have to set my OpenVPN max frame size to something in the 1300s for it to work reliably.

Offline Steve

• Former Staff
« Reply #2 on: Jan 30, 2016, 15:51:14 »
PPPoE does support an MTU of 1500 provided your modem and ISP do as well

http://aa.net.uk/kb-broadband-mtu.html