Author Topic: 2700HGV with WHR-G300NV2 bridge mode help  (Read 3396 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jazzist

  • New Netter
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 3
2700HGV with WHR-G300NV2 bridge mode help
« on: Jun 01, 2011, 08:24:59 »
Hi All,

I just bought a WHR-G300NV2 to do the routing duties for my 2700HGV and I'm struggling to get the two to talk.

I changed the 2700HGV from Routed VC-Mux to Bridge VC-Mux, I also changed the connection type to Direct IP. I then disabled the wireless and enabled bridge mode.

I connected the 2700HGV to the G300's WAN port.

I set up the PPPoE client on the G300 (which is basically just ISP credentials). One setting I thought the PPoE client on the G300 would require is the 192.168.1.254 address for the 2wire but there was no space for this.

The G300 connection status loops from connecting, hold off, connecting. Hard to debug without an error message :(

Any ideas?

Thanks very much~!

Offline Steve

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 20627
  • Karma: 497
Re: 2700HGV with WHR-G300NV2 bridge mode help
« Reply #1 on: Jun 01, 2011, 09:26:41 »
Steve
------------
This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline MisterW

  • Grand Netter
  • ******
  • Posts: 740
  • Karma: 30
Re: 2700HGV with WHR-G300NV2 bridge mode help
« Reply #2 on: Jun 01, 2011, 10:05:33 »
Quote
One setting I thought the PPoE client on the G300 would require is the 192.168.1.254 address for the 2wire but there was no space for this.
In bridge mode, the 2700 is basically an ADSL modem and so is transparent to the pppoe connection. the 192.168.1.254 is the IP that the 2700 will respond to on its local LAN ports to allow access to its web configuration if required.

Offline jazzist

  • New Netter
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 3
Re: 2700HGV with WHR-G300NV2 bridge mode help
« Reply #3 on: Jun 01, 2011, 10:33:45 »
Thanks for clearing that up MisterW and thanks for the link Steve.

I note from the link that the settings on the 2700 should be ATM Encapsulation: Bridged LLC. I had set Bridged VC-Mux, so that's one thing for me to try changing tonight. There doesn't look to be any other relevant settings that I could have got wrong on the 2700.

Offline Steve

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 20627
  • Karma: 497
Re: 2700HGV with WHR-G300NV2 bridge mode help
« Reply #4 on: Jun 01, 2011, 11:24:12 »
The link was taken from this long thread which maybe of interest to you.

http://www.idnetters.co.uk/forums/index.php/topic,25621.0.html
Steve
------------
This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline jazzist

  • New Netter
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 3
Re: 2700HGV with WHR-G300NV2 bridge mode help
« Reply #5 on: Jun 01, 2011, 19:33:13 »
Thanks for the link. Pretty much given up can't get anywhere with it!

Offline Steve

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 20627
  • Karma: 497
Re: 2700HGV with WHR-G300NV2 bridge mode help
« Reply #6 on: Jun 01, 2011, 19:45:23 »
It's not something I've done with a 2wire, (my success was with a Draytek 120 via PPPOE) looking back at the BT business forums link I see you have to be quite specific how you put the 2wire into bridge mode.
Steve
------------
This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline MisterW

  • Grand Netter
  • ******
  • Posts: 740
  • Karma: 30
Re: 2700HGV with WHR-G300NV2 bridge mode help
« Reply #7 on: Jun 01, 2011, 20:16:56 »
I'm afraid,like Steve, its not something I've done with any of my 2700's. Mine at home is a straightforward NAT config and whilst the one in the office connects to a firewall, it uses the Public Routed subinterface facility to route our block of 8 public IP's to the firewall and other devices.
I'm pretty sure there's a couple of people on here who've actually used bridge mode though. Alan(kinmel) has done most (decent & legal!) things with a 2700 but I haven't seen him around for a while. I'm sure Rik has mentioned bridge mode in the past. Hopefully one them will pop in and offer some more hands on advice.


Show unread posts since last visit.
 

Any information and links published in the forum are posted in good faith, but the forum staff and
owners cannot and do not accept responsibility for the content and accuracy of external websites.

luck