Author Topic: Speedtouch TG585v7 - updating firmware  (Read 15308 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dudwell

  • Super Netter
  • *****
  • Posts: 281
  • Karma: 8
Speedtouch TG585v7 - updating firmware
« on: Nov 01, 2010, 19:35:40 »
Sorry Rik but abysmal ignorance means I can't provide information in the form you have requested!

My question is, should I update the router firmware and, if so, to what version and how exactly should I go about it?

Everything seems to work OK for my simple needs so perhaps I should leave well alone? On the other hand a bit more speed would be nice when looking at YouTube for instance. I have the most ordinary kind of ADSL on a small country exchange.

Here's some statistics:-

Thomson Gateway

Information

Product Name:
TG585 v7

Serial Number:
CP0811SF6JU

Software Release:
7.4.2.6

Configuration

Service Name:
Data (Default) (modified by user)

Time Since Power-on:
3 days, 0:43:38


BT speedtest

Download speed achieved during the test was - 5729 Kbps
 For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 600-7150 Kbps.
 Additional Information:
 Your DSL Connection Rate :7616 Kbps(DOWN-STREAM), 448 Kbps(UP-STREAM)
 IP Profile for your line is - 6500 Kbps



DSL Connection

Link Information

Uptime:
3 days, 0:40:37

DSL Type:
G.992.1 annex A

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]:
448 / 7,616

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]:
0.00 / 0.00

Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]:
11.5 / 19.5

Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]:
10.0 / 15.0

SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]:
22.0 / 14.0

Vendor ID (Local/Remote):
TMMB / ALCB

Loss of Framing (Local/Remote):
0 / 0

Loss of Signal (Local/Remote):
0 / 0

Loss of Power (Local/Remote):
0 / 0

Loss of Link (Remote):
0

Error Seconds (Local/Remote):
0 / 0

FEC Errors (Up/Down):
0 / 1

CRC Errors (Up/Down):
0 / 0

HEC Errors (Up/Down):
0 / 0




Offline pctech

  • Power Netter
  • ************
  • Posts: 14189
  • Karma: 148
Re: Speedtouch TG585v7 - updating firmware
« Reply #1 on: Nov 01, 2010, 19:49:29 »
Was this router obtained while with another ISP?

My understanding is that some ISPs that are using these routers push out updated firmware when available so you may not have access to do this manaully and you are unlikely to have access to your former ISP's update server outside their network.

Here is the homepage for your router http://www.technicolor.com/en/lo/home-networking/dsl-fiber-products/dsl-modems-and-gateways/data-wireless

I cannot see any firmware download area though
« Last Edit: Nov 01, 2010, 19:56:26 by pctech »

Online Steve

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 19744
  • Karma: 486
Re: Speedtouch TG585v7 - updating firmware
« Reply #2 on: Nov 01, 2010, 20:01:16 »
Not sure where you get firmware from these days , however your stats look fine, your not going to do any better on adslmax although interleave is on . You could reduce your latency by having it turned off. 
Steve
------------
This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline pctech

  • Power Netter
  • ************
  • Posts: 14189
  • Karma: 148
Re: Speedtouch TG585v7 - updating firmware
« Reply #3 on: Nov 01, 2010, 20:03:50 »
You can buy this router from Zen and I believe they operate a TR-069 remote management server which pushes out the updates, a bit like the 2wire 2700s.


Offline dudwell

  • Super Netter
  • *****
  • Posts: 281
  • Karma: 8
Re: Speedtouch TG585v7 - updating firmware
« Reply #4 on: Nov 01, 2010, 20:24:05 »
Was this router obtained while with another ISP?

No, I bought it from DSL-Warehouse in July 2008

My understanding is that some ISPs that are using these routers push out updated firmware when available so you may not have access to do this manaully and you are unlikely to have access to your former ISP's update server outside their network.

Here is the homepage for your router http://www.technicolor.com/en/lo/home-networking/dsl-fiber-products/dsl-modems-and-gateways/data-wireless

I cannot see any firmware download area though

Neither can I :dunno:


I'm getting the feeling that I'm not missing out on anything obvious or important so unless someone comes up with some new insight I'll be leaving well alone. I don't do gaming so I suppose latency isn't important.

Thanks Steve and pctech.

Online Steve

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 19744
  • Karma: 486
Steve
------------
This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Ted

  • Forum Star
  • *****
  • Posts: 1324
  • Karma: 95
Re: Speedtouch TG585v7 - updating firmware
« Reply #6 on: Nov 01, 2010, 23:02:57 »

I'm getting the feeling that I'm not missing out on anything obvious or important so unless someone comes up with some new insight I'll be leaving well alone. I don't do gaming so I suppose latency isn't important.

Thanks Steve and pctech.

My advice, looking at your stats, would be to call support and ask for interleaving to be turned off. That should push your sync up to 8128 and your profile to 7150, and push up your download speed accordingly.
Code: [Select]
TedThere's no place like 127.0.0.1

Offline pctech

  • Power Netter
  • ************
  • Posts: 14189
  • Karma: 148
Re: Speedtouch TG585v7 - updating firmware
« Reply #7 on: Nov 02, 2010, 10:05:07 »
Didn't think of looking on Zen's own site Steve so   :karma2: for that.

Online Steve

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 19744
  • Karma: 486
Re: Speedtouch TG585v7 - updating firmware
« Reply #8 on: Nov 02, 2010, 10:32:50 »
Thanks Mitch I assume that since Zen uses BT ipstream that the firmware should be universal unlike O2s renditions
Steve
------------
This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline dudwell

  • Super Netter
  • *****
  • Posts: 281
  • Karma: 8
Re: Speedtouch TG585v7 - updating firmware
« Reply #9 on: Nov 02, 2010, 10:51:48 »
Those instructions found by Steve look straightforward enough but there's evidently a bit of a risk involved. I'd like to know what benefit might be gained by updating - remember that everything seems to work OK already.

Meanwhile I'll try getting interleaving turned off.

Thanks everyone!

Offline Rik

  • Admin Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 203018
  • Karma: 1423
Re: Speedtouch TG585v7 - updating firmware
« Reply #10 on: Nov 02, 2010, 10:55:56 »
I'm from the "If it ain't broke, don't fix it" school of thought myself. ;)
Rik
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline pctech

  • Power Netter
  • ************
  • Posts: 14189
  • Karma: 148
Re: Speedtouch TG585v7 - updating firmware
« Reply #11 on: Nov 02, 2010, 10:58:49 »
Pass I've not touched one so can't comment.


Offline dudwell

  • Super Netter
  • *****
  • Posts: 281
  • Karma: 8
Re: Speedtouch TG585v7 - updating firmware
« Reply #12 on: Nov 02, 2010, 11:13:54 »
I'm from the "If it ain't broke, don't fix it" school of thought myself. ;)

Me too actually. I just thought I might be missing out on something :thumb:

Offline Rik

  • Admin Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 203018
  • Karma: 1423
Re: Speedtouch TG585v7 - updating firmware
« Reply #13 on: Nov 02, 2010, 11:23:17 »
 ;D

Heartache. ;)
Rik
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Glenn

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 26305
  • Karma: 727
    • WRRacing
Re: Speedtouch TG585v7 - updating firmware
« Reply #14 on: Nov 02, 2010, 11:24:43 »
I'm from the "If it ain't broke, don't fix it" school of thought myself. ;)

Not 'if it ain't broke, you aren't trying hard enough'?
Glenn
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Rik

  • Admin Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 203018
  • Karma: 1423
Re: Speedtouch TG585v7 - updating firmware
« Reply #15 on: Nov 02, 2010, 11:25:41 »
In my younger days. ;)
Rik
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline pctech

  • Power Netter
  • ************
  • Posts: 14189
  • Karma: 148
Re: Speedtouch TG585v7 - updating firmware
« Reply #16 on: Nov 02, 2010, 11:33:44 »
Just make sure you don't disturb the power during the update and you'll be ok.

Generally it seems they fix small bugs like on the netgear I have they fixed an issue which prevented the anyone setting on remote admin from working.

There was also a problem where the line parameters auto detection didn't work sometimes I believe.


Offline Ted

  • Forum Star
  • *****
  • Posts: 1324
  • Karma: 95
Re: Speedtouch TG585v7 - updating firmware
« Reply #17 on: Nov 02, 2010, 13:33:23 »
I just uploaded the Zen 8.2.2.5 firmware to my 585v7, works just fine and the interface is a bit nicer.

However, the firmware is Zen branded, and not generic so needs a couple of small "tweeks" but nothing terrible.

The set up is slightly different from a factory reset, on the first page you should uncheck the Zen auto configuration.

The local address page is fine.

The public address page needs you to enter your ip address, and where it asks for "public network" you use your ip address followed by /32

That' it, all done. Pics below for clarity.

Ps, Please remember to use the correct password or it won't work!  :slap:
Code: [Select]
TedThere's no place like 127.0.0.1

Offline Rik

  • Admin Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 203018
  • Karma: 1423
Re: Speedtouch TG585v7 - updating firmware
« Reply #18 on: Nov 02, 2010, 14:22:34 »
But you blanked out your correct password, Ted. ;)
Rik
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Ted

  • Forum Star
  • *****
  • Posts: 1324
  • Karma: 95
Re: Speedtouch TG585v7 - updating firmware
« Reply #19 on: Nov 02, 2010, 15:15:17 »
But you blanked out your correct password, Ted. ;)

Yeah, it had me going for a minute. Shows you just how easy it is to get it wrong. I much prefer the type of password form, where you can opt to see the password.

Seems to be performing quite well on the Zen firmware.  :thumb:

Code: [Select]
TedThere's no place like 127.0.0.1

Offline Rik

  • Admin Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 203018
  • Karma: 1423
Re: Speedtouch TG585v7 - updating firmware
« Reply #20 on: Nov 02, 2010, 15:15:57 »
 :thumb:
Rik
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline pctech

  • Power Netter
  • ************
  • Posts: 14189
  • Karma: 148
Re: Speedtouch TG585v7 - updating firmware
« Reply #21 on: Nov 02, 2010, 15:23:03 »
Yeah, it had me going for a minute. Shows you just how easy it is to get it wrong. I much prefer the type of password form, where you can opt to see the password.

Seems to be performing quite well on the Zen firmware.  :thumb:



Zen do that on the portal when you select technical details.


Offline Ted

  • Forum Star
  • *****
  • Posts: 1324
  • Karma: 95
Re: Speedtouch TG585v7 - updating firmware
« Reply #22 on: Nov 02, 2010, 19:32:35 »
It would seem that Zen "dumb down" the interface so that no password is required for Admin access  ??? I know this because I was having trouble setting one, and gave them a quick call. Very nice support staff and very helpful. They advised setting a password using the CLI via Telnet, but I couldn't even do that, kept asking for a password, which of course, there wasn't one. Leaving it blank didn't work either.  ::)

But fear not, I managed to track down a newer firmware on Modem Help.

 http://download.modem-help.co.uk/mfcs-A/Alcatel/Modems/TG585/v7/Firmware/r8-2-6/Generic/ZZ5YAA8.265.bli.7z.php?sid=19f8b43a0d51f21b744f01a0cfdb8149

Works a treat, firmware version 8.2.6.5, it's supposedly generic and certainly appears to be on configuration, but the Zen logo still appears at the top. Not sure why that is? No problems with config, just answer the questions and go. You can even set the Admin password during setup. Logging into Telnet works as it should, so no problem changing the DNS servers. Definately better than 8.2.2.5

Firewall and Wireless security are disabled by default, you may want to change that  ;D

Running just fine.  :thumb:


« Last Edit: Nov 02, 2010, 20:13:00 by Ted »
Code: [Select]
TedThere's no place like 127.0.0.1

Offline dudwell

  • Super Netter
  • *****
  • Posts: 281
  • Karma: 8
Re: Speedtouch TG585v7 - updating firmware
« Reply #23 on: Nov 02, 2010, 22:01:30 »
Well I succeeded in updating to 8.2.2.5, more as an intellectual challenge than in expectation of gaining much - in fact I haven't noticed any difference in performance so far.

I failed with Ted's suggestion of 8.2.6.5. Not sure why. I think I'll need a night's rest to recover before trying again!

Offline Ted

  • Forum Star
  • *****
  • Posts: 1324
  • Karma: 95
Re: Speedtouch TG585v7 - updating firmware
« Reply #24 on: Nov 02, 2010, 23:22:08 »
Well I succeeded in updating to 8.2.2.5, more as an intellectual challenge than in expectation of gaining much - in fact I haven't noticed any difference in performance so far.

I failed with Ted's suggestion of 8.2.6.5. Not sure why. I think I'll need a night's rest to recover before trying again!

Strange the 8265 failed, mine went in with no problem at all. I did a full factory reset first, don't know if that would make a difference, can't see why. Might have been a corrupt download, if you want to try my copy let me know and I'll email it to you. I've checked the md5sum (55c4761eb2bec594a49bb637ba04b716) of my file, and its 100% ok.

Or perhaps try a different one, there are several to choose from http://download.modem-help.co.uk/mfcs-A/Alcatel/Modems/TG585/v7/Firmware/ maybe 8.2.4.4, that's also a generic firmware.
« Last Edit: Nov 02, 2010, 23:28:15 by Ted »
Code: [Select]
TedThere's no place like 127.0.0.1


Show unread posts since last visit.
 

Any information and links published in the forum are posted in good faith, but the forum staff and
owners cannot and do not accept responsibility for the content and accuracy of external websites.