Author Topic: Anyone got an FTTP install?  (Read 190 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline pctech

  • Power Netter
  • ************
  • Posts: 14651
  • Karma: 148
Anyone got an FTTP install?
« on: Jan 14, 2017, 22:30:58 »
I'm going to go Fibre To The Premises in the next few months but just wondered how big the ONT is.

Anyone got FTTP and could take a picture to help me?


Offline Glenn

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 27094
  • Karma: 737
    • WRRacing
Re: Anyone got an FTTP install?
« Reply #1 on: Jan 15, 2017, 08:49:53 »
My brother has used FTTP for the past 2 to 3 years, his main issue with it is the lack of options if you want to move from BT.
Glenn
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline JB

  • Master Netter
  • *******
  • Posts: 1074
  • Karma: 19
Re: Anyone got an FTTP install?
« Reply #2 on: Jan 15, 2017, 09:50:09 »
Hello Mitch,

I had FTTP installed about 5 weeks ago using Zen. It is superb and a big step up from the ADSL+ we had before.

I have included a link to my Google Drive with a copy of the manual for the Huawei ONT that I had fitted by Openreach. The dimensions are at the rear of the manual. The model fitted here was the HG8240 but in white, not black as shown in the manual. The ONT comes with a separate battery backup as this is a requirement in case you will be using it for a phone line as well.

I have also included an Openreach PNG which shows FTTP distribution but in the bottom right hand corner shows a typical ONT and battery backup installation. You can zoom the diagram with your mouse wheel to get a better view.

Here is the link. Hope this is of use to you.

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/0B7elMuWqkUE9cnNlemFhT2IyYXM?usp=sharing

One important thing to consider is to make sure whatever router you connect to the ONT has a fast enough processor to cope with the data. I am using a Billion 7800NXL via the EWAN socket and it is great. I also have a Billion 6300NX but it under performs on a single thread speed test compared to the 7800NXL. It's OK on multi thread, so I keep it as a spare.
JB

'Keyboard not detected ~ Press F1 to continue'

Offline pctech

  • Power Netter
  • ************
  • Posts: 14651
  • Karma: 148
Re: Anyone got an FTTP install?
« Reply #3 on: Jan 15, 2017, 18:52:23 »
Hi JB

Is this similar to what the setup phyiscally looks like?

https://bt.i.lithium.com/t5/image/serverpage/image-id/43640iDD0F4595D0E5EF1F/image-size/original?v=v2&px=-1

I have a Netgear D6400 which has a Gigabit EWAN port so should be able to cope with 37 Meg. (ended up replacing the Billion 8800NL as there's something in the firmware that means it doesn't play well with Zen's ADSL kit)




Offline JB

  • Master Netter
  • *******
  • Posts: 1074
  • Karma: 19
Re: Anyone got an FTTP install?
« Reply #4 on: Jan 16, 2017, 08:40:33 »
Yes Mitch. It looks exactly like that.

The fibre comes through the wall inside a thin plastic tube and plugs into the bottom of the ONT. I run my ONT, router, switch, VOIP box and main server from a UPS but have left the BT supplied battery backup connected as well. Surprisingly, the battery backup unit appears to be fitted with rechargeable AA cells.
JB

'Keyboard not detected ~ Press F1 to continue'

Offline nowster

  • Grand Netter
  • ******
  • Posts: 915
  • Karma: 20
Re: Anyone got an FTTP install?
« Reply #5 on: Jan 16, 2017, 11:27:36 »
...the BT supplied battery backup connected as well. Surprisingly, the battery backup unit appears to be fitted with rechargeable AA cells.
How long do they quote that that battery pack would last?

Offline JB

  • Master Netter
  • *******
  • Posts: 1074
  • Karma: 19
Re: Anyone got an FTTP install?
« Reply #6 on: Jan 16, 2017, 11:44:30 »
How long do they quote that that battery pack would last?

Because I'm running a UPS I didn't bother asking. I would image an hour. Tops.
JB

'Keyboard not detected ~ Press F1 to continue'


Show unread posts since last visit.
 

Any information and links published in the forum are posted in good faith, but the forum staff and
owners cannot and do not accept responsibility for the content and accuracy of external websites.

luck