Author Topic: BT 2701 HGV-C Big problem :(  (Read 3977 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Bazru

  • Full Netter
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: 2
BT 2701 HGV-C Big problem :(
« on: May 14, 2012, 09:34:57 »
Hi to All!
I have BT2701HGV-C
4201-003004-001
I have upgraded its to Qwest QT04-6.1.5.48.2 firmware

Now I cannot use options page...
I specify IP 192.168.0.1. Or 192.168.1.254 , but options page does not open.

The modem connect with PC via WIFI or LAN cable, and PC receives IP address from the modem 192.168.1.66

What it is possible to make?
Really it is necessary to throw out absolutely new modem?

Offline Den

  • Forum Star
  • *****
  • Posts: 18209
  • Karma: 406
    • www.crimeshield-alarms.co.uk
Re: BT 2701 HGV-C Big problem :(
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2012, 09:56:03 »
This happened to me a couple of months ago, it cleared and worked fine after turning the power off for 5mins and then powering up again.  :fingers:
Mr Music Man     

Offline Bazru

  • Full Netter
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: 2
Re: BT 2701 HGV-C Big problem :(
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2012, 10:30:13 »
This happened to me a couple of months ago, it cleared and worked fine after turning the power off for 5mins and then powering up again.  :fingers:
Has not helped :(
The modem connect with PC, but the page of options does not open.
Possibly it is an new (unlocked) firmware problem. How to return an old firmware (factory shipped firmware v6.3.9.41-plus.tm) ???

Offline pctech

  • Power Netter
  • ************
  • Posts: 14189
  • Karma: 148
Re: BT 2701 HGV-C Big problem :(
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2012, 10:37:02 »
Look for the reset switch on the back and hold it in with straightened paper clip for about 10 seconds.


Offline Glenn

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 26307
  • Karma: 727
    • WRRacing
Re: BT 2701 HGV-C Big problem :(
« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2012, 10:43:56 »
http://bt2700hgv.tripod.com/085.htm

Try home/support/utilities
Glenn
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Bazru

  • Full Netter
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: 2
Re: BT 2701 HGV-C Big problem :(
« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2012, 11:24:07 »
Look for the reset switch on the back and hold it in with straightened paper clip for about 10 seconds.


http://bt2700hgv.tripod.com/085.htm

Try home/support/utilities
Not helped :(

Offline Lance

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 13754
  • Karma: 409
Re: BT 2701 HGV-C Big problem :(
« Reply #6 on: May 14, 2012, 12:40:57 »
In your windows connection details or ipconfig /all what IP does the 'default gateway' have? Maybe try that?
Lance
_____

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Polchraine

  • Master Netter
  • *******
  • Posts: 1758
  • Karma: 43
Re: BT 2701 HGV-C Big problem :(
« Reply #7 on: May 14, 2012, 12:51:59 »
You now have a door stop ...    There are warnings about changing BT 6.3.xx.xx firmware to Qwest but you may well have ignored them

http://bt2700hgv.tripod.com/085.htm   It is there in bright red.



I'm desperately trying to figure out why kamikaze pilots wore helmets.

Offline Bazru

  • Full Netter
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: 2
Re: BT 2701 HGV-C Big problem :(
« Reply #8 on: May 14, 2012, 14:20:51 »
You now have a door stop ...    There are warnings about changing BT 6.3.xx.xx firmware to Qwest but you may well have ignored them

http://bt2700hgv.tripod.com/085.htm   It is there in bright red.




I have read it. already too late that either change. But already I have made it.
How now to restore old Firmware?

Offline kinmel

  • Netter Nutter
  • ********
  • Posts: 4690
  • Karma: 491
Re: BT 2701 HGV-C Big problem :(
« Reply #9 on: May 14, 2012, 15:17:04 »
Your IP is in the 192.168.1.XXX range and so the router must be in that range too.

Does "Home" or "Gateway" get you to the rounter page ?

you have tried 192.168.1.254, so try 192.168.1.0 , 192.168.1.1 and 192.168.1.253.

I upped a BT v5.29.107.12 recovery to this F/W and then downgraded it back using the usual routine without any problems. Try each of the v6's in turn.

Alan  ‹(•¿•)›

I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was blaming you

Offline Bazru

  • Full Netter
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: 2
Re: BT 2701 HGV-C Big problem :(
« Reply #10 on: May 15, 2012, 14:12:38 »
Your IP is in the 192.168.1.XXX range and so the router must be in that range too.

Does "Home" or "Gateway" get you to the rounter page ?

you have tried 192.168.1.254, so try 192.168.1.0 , 192.168.1.1 and 192.168.1.253.

I upped a BT v5.29.107.12 recovery to this F/W and then downgraded it back using the usual routine without any problems. Try each of the v6's in turn.


Has helped nothing :(
The modem on the former connecting with РС - a range of 192.168.1.XXX addresses
But the page of options is inaccessible.
I seem have spoilt the modem. How it is possible to restore a factory firmware?

Offline Polchraine

  • Master Netter
  • *******
  • Posts: 1758
  • Karma: 43
Re: BT 2701 HGV-C Big problem :(
« Reply #11 on: May 15, 2012, 15:44:10 »
Has helped nothing :(
The modem on the former connecting with РС - a range of 192.168.1.XXX addresses
But the page of options is inaccessible.
I seem have spoilt the modem. How it is possible to restore a factory firmware?

You could try the recovery firmware that is linked to, but the chances are you will be unsuccessful.   You have nothing to lose but trying though.

I'm desperately trying to figure out why kamikaze pilots wore helmets.

Offline Bazru

  • Full Netter
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: 2
Re: BT 2701 HGV-C Big problem :(
« Reply #12 on: May 15, 2012, 17:05:28 »
You could try the recovery firmware that is linked to, but the chances are you will be unsuccessful.   You have nothing to lose but trying though.


where can I get this program?

Offline Glenn

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 26307
  • Karma: 727
    • WRRacing
Re: BT 2701 HGV-C Big problem :(
« Reply #13 on: May 15, 2012, 17:13:56 »
From within the box with the red warning http://bt2700hgv.tripod.com/085.htm 
Glenn
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Bazru

  • Full Netter
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: 2
Re: BT 2701 HGV-C Big problem :(
« Reply #14 on: May 15, 2012, 17:24:22 »
From within the box with the red warning http://bt2700hgv.tripod.com/085.htm 
I read it once did a firmware :(

Offline Glenn

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 26307
  • Karma: 727
    • WRRacing
Re: BT 2701 HGV-C Big problem :(
« Reply #15 on: May 15, 2012, 17:32:19 »
Tried this?  Do NOT use this Qwest v6.1 firmware to downgrade a BT 2700HGV or 2701HGV-C which has newer v6.3.x firmware – it will semi-brick the hub rendering it unusable. I suspect other 2700/2701 models with firmware higher than v6.1 may also be bricked in similar manner. You could try downgrading first to BT v6.1.1.22 (17MB file) and then reflashing to the Qwest firmware.
Glenn
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Bazru

  • Full Netter
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: 2
Re: BT 2701 HGV-C Big problem :(
« Reply #16 on: May 15, 2012, 18:03:04 »
Tried this?  Do NOT use this Qwest v6.1 firmware to downgrade a BT 2700HGV or 2701HGV-C which has newer v6.3.x firmware – it will semi-brick the hub rendering it unusable. I suspect other 2700/2701 models with firmware higher than v6.1 may also be bricked in similar manner. You could try downgrading first to BT v6.1.1.22 (17MB file) and then reflashing to the Qwest firmware.
What can I do now? Just throw a modem? No variants?

Offline Glenn

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 26307
  • Karma: 727
    • WRRacing
Re: BT 2701 HGV-C Big problem :(
« Reply #17 on: May 15, 2012, 18:29:19 »
If you have tried everything and it still doesn't work, then there isn't much else you can do.
Glenn
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Bazru

  • Full Netter
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: 2
Re: BT 2701 HGV-C Big problem :(
« Reply #18 on: May 15, 2012, 18:34:08 »
Certainly the BT has a programme of recovery firmware. Where to find it?

Offline Glenn

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 26307
  • Karma: 727
    • WRRacing
Re: BT 2701 HGV-C Big problem :(
« Reply #19 on: May 15, 2012, 18:35:45 »
No idea, read through the Tripod website it may help.
Glenn
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline kinmel

  • Netter Nutter
  • ********
  • Posts: 4690
  • Karma: 491
Re: BT 2701 HGV-C Big problem :(
« Reply #20 on: May 15, 2012, 20:30:31 »
Certainly the BT has a programme of recovery firmware. Where to find it?

Which BT firmware do you want to try ?

You will need to locate the router's upgrade page to use any of them though
Alan  ‹(•¿•)›

I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was blaming you

Offline Polchraine

  • Master Netter
  • *******
  • Posts: 1758
  • Karma: 43
Re: BT 2701 HGV-C Big problem :(
« Reply #21 on: May 15, 2012, 22:10:20 »
Certainly the BT has a programme of recovery firmware. Where to find it?

If you ever think of becoming a builder - you will at least have some stock to start off with!.

I'm desperately trying to figure out why kamikaze pilots wore helmets.

Offline Bazru

  • Full Netter
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: 2
Re: BT 2701 HGV-C Big problem :(
« Reply #22 on: May 17, 2012, 05:26:55 »
Which BT firmware do you want to try ?

You will need to locate the router's upgrade page to use any of them though
I've seen similar programs for BT Home Hub 1.5. These programs do not require an update page.

Offline kinmel

  • Netter Nutter
  • ********
  • Posts: 4690
  • Karma: 491
Re: BT 2701 HGV-C Big problem :(
« Reply #23 on: May 17, 2012, 07:12:32 »
I've seen similar programs for BT Home Hub 1.5. These programs do not require an update page.

Don't they run on the JTags though ?
Alan  ‹(•¿•)›

I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was blaming you

Offline Bazru

  • Full Netter
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: 2
Re: BT 2701 HGV-C Big problem :(
« Reply #24 on: May 17, 2012, 11:07:52 »
Don't they run on the JTags though ?
They work without JTAG.
I restored with this program Home Hub v. 1.5
They are intended for restoring of factory BT firmware


Show unread posts since last visit.
 

Any information and links published in the forum are posted in good faith, but the forum staff and
owners cannot and do not accept responsibility for the content and accuracy of external websites.

luck