Author Topic: IDNet launches FTTC  (Read 21113 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Rik

  • Admin Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 203018
  • Karma: 1423
IDNet launches FTTC
« on: May 13, 2010, 16:29:08 »
Details here.

Discussion in this thread please.
« Last Edit: May 13, 2010, 16:37:18 by Steve »
Rik
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Technical Ben

  • Live-in Netter
  • *********
  • Posts: 5706
  • Karma: 53
Re: IDNet launches FTTC
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2010, 16:54:00 »
No? Really?! Wow. Bolt from the blue!
Sounds great.  :thumb:
I use to have a signature, then it all changed to chip and pin.

Offline Rik

  • Admin Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 203018
  • Karma: 1423
Re: IDNet launches FTTC
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2010, 16:55:06 »
All we need is BT to lay the fibre, Ben.  :fingers:
Rik
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Lance

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 14043
  • Karma: 410
Re: IDNet launches FTTC
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2010, 16:57:05 »
I'm not getting fibre for years  :bawl:
Lance
_____

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Rik

  • Admin Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 203018
  • Karma: 1423
Re: IDNet launches FTTC
« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2010, 16:57:44 »
That is a shame, Lance. :(
Rik
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline adamr8965

  • Master Netter
  • *******
  • Posts: 2061
  • Karma: 33
Re: IDNet launches FTTC
« Reply #5 on: May 13, 2010, 17:03:19 »
What a load of bleeping cr*p, still havent got bloody wbc let alone fibre :bawl:

Offline Rik

  • Admin Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 203018
  • Karma: 1423
Re: IDNet launches FTTC
« Reply #6 on: May 13, 2010, 17:06:49 »
Some people may bypass WBC altogether and go straight to fibre.
Rik
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline adamr8965

  • Master Netter
  • *******
  • Posts: 2061
  • Karma: 33
Re: IDNet launches FTTC
« Reply #7 on: May 13, 2010, 17:11:27 »
haha so when do you reckon us yorkshire bumkins in driffield will get fttc? Maybe for when i move at the end of june?

Offline Rik

  • Admin Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 203018
  • Karma: 1423
Re: IDNet launches FTTC
« Reply #8 on: May 13, 2010, 17:11:56 »
Have you checked the list in Tim's link?
Rik
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Glenn

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 27098
  • Karma: 737
    • WRRacing
Re: IDNet launches FTTC
« Reply #9 on: May 13, 2010, 17:33:44 »
Some people may bypass WBC altogether and go straight to fibre.

My exchange has no date for WBC, but does have a date for fibre, hopefully a very nice xmas pressie
Glenn
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Rik

  • Admin Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 203018
  • Karma: 1423
Re: IDNet launches FTTC
« Reply #10 on: May 13, 2010, 17:42:35 »
We're both writing to Santa then, Glenn. :)
Rik
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Glenn

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 27098
  • Karma: 737
    • WRRacing
Re: IDNet launches FTTC
« Reply #11 on: May 13, 2010, 17:44:32 »
I sent it off earlier  :fingers:  ;D
Glenn
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Gary

  • Supreme Netter
  • *************
  • Posts: 15546
  • Karma: 241
Re: IDNet launches FTTC
« Reply #12 on: May 13, 2010, 17:44:45 »
Mine has no dates for either  :sigh: I might have to get in contact with the parish council and whip up some support for some kind of "we need modernisation" plan of attack, not that it will do much good I imagine.  :(

Offline Rik

  • Admin Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 203018
  • Karma: 1423
Re: IDNet launches FTTC
« Reply #13 on: May 13, 2010, 17:48:44 »
Rik
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Glenn

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 27098
  • Karma: 737
    • WRRacing
Re: IDNet launches FTTC
« Reply #14 on: May 13, 2010, 17:49:23 »
I may not be able to get it Gary, I can't find any BT street cabinets in my area, I think I need to hijack a BT chap to findout where it is.
Glenn
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Gary

  • Supreme Netter
  • *************
  • Posts: 15546
  • Karma: 241
Re: IDNet launches FTTC
« Reply #15 on: May 13, 2010, 17:52:15 »
I may not be able to get it Gary, I can't find any BT street cabinets in my area, I think I need to hijack a BT chap to findout where it is.
I hope you do Glenn, our Cabinet is about 400 yards away.  :(

Offline Rik

  • Admin Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 203018
  • Karma: 1423
Re: IDNet launches FTTC
« Reply #16 on: May 13, 2010, 17:54:40 »
Slow speeds then, Gary. ;)
Rik
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Gary

  • Supreme Netter
  • *************
  • Posts: 15546
  • Karma: 241
Re: IDNet launches FTTC
« Reply #17 on: May 13, 2010, 18:07:43 »
Slow speeds then, Gary. ;)
Well with Fibre it would be great, but no WBC date, no 3G, no fibre, our village only has BT as its telco at the exchange, our village is in danger of being left in the dark ages  :( I'm not moaning at my speeds now, but as time goes on I just wonder what will happen to our ancient exchange.
« Last Edit: May 13, 2010, 18:10:52 by Gary »

Offline Rik

  • Admin Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 203018
  • Karma: 1423
Re: IDNet launches FTTC
« Reply #18 on: May 13, 2010, 18:08:51 »
Rutland Telecom will move in. :)
Rik
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Gary

  • Supreme Netter
  • *************
  • Posts: 15546
  • Karma: 241
Re: IDNet launches FTTC
« Reply #19 on: May 13, 2010, 18:11:14 »
Rutland Telecom will move in. :)
Who, and do they use wet string?

Offline Rik

  • Admin Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 203018
  • Karma: 1423
Re: IDNet launches FTTC
« Reply #20 on: May 13, 2010, 18:12:19 »
Rik
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Offline Gary

  • Supreme Netter
  • *************
  • Posts: 15546
  • Karma: 241
Re: IDNet launches FTTC
« Reply #21 on: May 13, 2010, 18:17:11 »
http://www.relay-rutlandtelecom.co.uk/
I have written an email to the Clerk of the Parish, there is a lot of old Money here, maybe just maybe someone would like to look at the situation and think on what it means for the small businesses here etc, one can but try to get some enthusiasm going.

Offline cavillas

  • Netter Nutter
  • ********
  • Posts: 3328
  • Karma: 145
  • Just lil' old me.
Re: IDNet launches FTTC
« Reply #22 on: May 13, 2010, 19:49:38 »
I think I'll have to look for the first exchanges to change over and move there.  It will be quicker than waiting for wbc here, round about early/mid 2011. :mad: >:(
------
Alf :)

Offline wecpcs

  • Super Netter
  • *****
  • Posts: 274
  • Karma: 12
Re: IDNet launches FTTC
« Reply #23 on: May 13, 2010, 19:56:26 »
Well with Fibre it would be great, but no WBC date, no 3G, no fibre, our village only has BT as its telco at the exchange, our village is in danger of being left in the dark ages  :( I'm not moaning at my speeds now, but as time goes on I just wonder what will happen to our ancient exchange.

Join the club as I am in exactly the same position.

Colin

Offline Niall

  • Live-in Netter
  • *********
  • Posts: 5610
  • Karma: 130
  • Blues machine
    • Flickr gubbins
Re: IDNet launches FTTC
« Reply #24 on: May 13, 2010, 22:02:57 »
I'd have hoped that Wrexham would get an upgrade (I say this without knowing how much it'd cost me!) but it seems a lot of near by areas are being done first. We're not even on any tables at the moment.

Booooo :(
Flickr Deviant art
Art is not a handicraft, it is the transmission of feeling the artist has experienced.
Leo Tolstoy


Show unread posts since last visit.
 

Any information and links published in the forum are posted in good faith, but the forum staff and
owners cannot and do not accept responsibility for the content and accuracy of external websites.